fb-100b.png twitter-100.pnglinkedin-64.png | NEWSLETTER  |  CONTACT |

MAS in European and International Governance

Master of Advanced Studies in European and International Governance – MEIG Programme

The Master of Advanced Studies in European and International Governance – MEIG Programmeis organized by the Centre d’études juridiques européennes (CEJE), the Global Studies institute (GSI) in cooperation with the United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR).

Professors Christine Kaddous and Nicolas Levrat are the directors of the Programme.

Curriculum

The MEIG Programme offers general and specialized courses on European and International Governance. It aims at raising the awareness and knowledge of the participants on these issues, while providing the necessary theoretical and practical information that may be of use in the participants’ day to day professional activities. The Programme of study covers theoretical and practical aspects of a number of topics such as Migration, Human Rights, Peace and Security, International Trade, Environment, Health and Agenda 2030, in both academic and professional perspectives.

Prospective Participants

The Programme is designed for graduates and professionals working or wishing to work in governments and ministries (Foreign Affairs, Trade, Economy, Finance, Agriculture, Justice and Home affairs etc.) dealing with global issues, in national administrations, international and European organisations, associations and foundations dealing with international affairs. It provides the students with a deep understanding of international relations backed by an in-depth knowledge of the political, economic, social and legal aspects of governance, the programme allows them to acquire the ability to analyse current affairs and evaluate today’s challenges with an expert eye and act accordingly. The Programme seeks to enroll candidates from a variety of countries, backgrounds and career plans.

Location

The modules included will be taught in English at the University of Geneva and at the premises of UNITAR. Study visits to the International Organisations based in Geneva and to the European institutions in Brussels will allow students to gain an inside and hands-on understanding of European and International governance.

Modules and Master’s end-of-study project

The study Programme corresponds to 60 ECTS credits. It comprises eight thematic and methodological modules as well as a Master’s end-of-study project which comprises either an internship and a written internship report, a written report on a predetermined project in the framework of the student’s professional activity, or a research project in the form of a written thesis on a subject related to the teaching in the Programme.

 

Directors of the Programme


Prof. Christine Kaddous: Christine.Kaddous(at)unige.ch

Prof. Nicolas Levrat: Nicolas.Levrat(at)unige.ch

 Programme Coordinator

 


Lubiana Gosp-Server: lubiana.gosp-server(at)unige.ch
tel.: +41 22 379 86 50

info(at)meig.ch; www.meig.ch

 

Important :

The next edition of the MEIG Program starts at the end of 25th September 2019 and will end in June 2020.
The applications open on November 1, 2018.
The application form can be filled out on-line on the website www.meig.ch

fb-100b.png twitter-100.pnglinkedin-64.png | NEWSLETTER  |  CONTACT |

MEIG Programme – Master in European and International Governance

Master of Advanced Studies in European and International Governance – MEIG Programme

Le Master of Advanced Studies in European and International Governance – MEIG Programme est organisé par le Centre d’études juridiques européennes (CEJE), le Global Studies Institute (GSI) en coopération avec  l'Office des Nations Unies à Genève (UNOG).

Le directeur du programme est Prof. Christine Kaddous.

Objet

Le master propose une formation de base et spécialisée en gouvernance européenne et internationale. Il vise à sensibiliser les participants à différentes problématiques, en leur fournissant les connaissances théoriques et pratiques nécessaires à la résolution de problèmes auxquels ils sont confrontés dans leur activité professionnelle. Le programme traitera, dans une perspective à la fois académique et pratique, toute une série de thématiques, telles que la migration, les droits de l’homme, la sécurité, la paix, les affaires humanitaires, la gouvernance digitale, le changement climatique, le commerce international, l’environnement et la santé ainsi que l’agenda 2030.

Public cible

Le programme s’adresse à toute personne travaillant ou voulant travailler dans des gouvernements ou des ministères (affaires étrangères, économie et finances, agriculture, justice, etc.), dans des administrations nationales, des organisations européennes et internationales, des associations et des fondations traitant de questions internationales. Il permet aux participants d’acquérir des compétences pluridisciplinaires (juridiques, économiques et politiques) et des compétences de négociation et de communication leur permettant de faire face aux enjeux actuels dans un contexte global. Le programme encourage la candidature de participants venant des quatre coins du monde avec des parcours professionnels et des plans de carrière divers.

Lieu de la formation

Cette formation pluridisciplinaire est dispensée en anglais à l’Université de Genève. Les enseignements seront complétés par des visites des organisations internationales basées à Genève et des institutions européennes à Bruxelles permettant aux participants de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de ces entités et leur rôle dans la gouvernance européenne et internationale.

Programme

Le programme du MEIG correspond à 60 crédits ECTS. Il comprend dix modules thématiques et méthodologiques et un travail de fin d’études. Celui-ci prend l’une des formes suivantes : un travail de mémoire « classique », problématisant et analysant un enjeu abordé lors de la formation, la réalisation d’un stage et la rédaction d’un rapport de stage, ou la rédaction d’un rapport sur un projet prédéterminé dans le cadre de l'activité professionnelle du participant.

 

Directeur du programme

 

Prof. Christine Kaddous: Christine.Kaddous(at)unige.ch

 

Coordinateurs du programme

 

Philipp Hahn: philipp.hahn(at)unige.ch
tél.: +41 22 379 85 35

Margaux Biermé: margaux.bierme(at)unige.ch

tél.: +41 22 379 86 50

 

MEIG e-mail : meig(at)unige.ch

MEIG website: www.meig.ch

 


Important:

 

La prochaine édition du MEIG Programme commence en Septembre 2021 et terminera en juillet 2022.
Les candidatures ouvrent dès le 1 octobre 2020.

Le formulaire d'inscription peut être rempli en ligne sur le site internet www.meig.ch